Guest Blog: “Winning My Career-Jackpot as My Peers are Retiring”


This week I am honored to have a guest blogger from the California Writer’s Club. JoAnn Smith Ainsworth is an example of someone who had a successful first career. With the help of a career book available several decades ago, she realized there was something else she would love to do which her first career was helping her with. See how she realized her second career after she retired. – Elizabeth Wagele (http://www.wagele.com) P.S. JoAnn has typed herself as a Perfectionist career type.

Winning My Career-Jackpot as My Peers are Retiring by JoAnn Smith Ainsworth

Elizabeth, thank you for this opportunity to share my writing experiences with your readers.

I’m an example that “It’s never too late to follow your dream.” It takes focus, hard work and not giving up. If your readers hold tight to their passion and stay focused, they’ll eventually create their dream.

As you know, I started writing a dozen years ago as a way to supplement my social security. I sold at age 68, e-published at 69 and released in paperback at age 70.

You asked some interesting questions. Let me see what I can do about answering them.

1. Would you have chosen writing as a career earlier in your life if you had known yourself better or had different guidance?

I’m a late boomer. I didn’t think to use my B.A. and M.A.T. in English and my MBA studies to become a published author until nearing retirement. Then I needed a way to make money where age didn’t matter and I wouldn’t have to commute. In publishing, all that matters is the quality of the book.

I had exciting careers before becoming an author. Early on, I was Chief Clerk of a U.S. Senate Subcommittee in Washington, DC. At the end of my corporate career, I was database administrator for one of the top 10 U.S. law firms. I also was on its team to develop its first website.

My corporate work experiences all added to my ability to create a business as an author. My database experience (where I organized vast amounts of data) made it easier for me to manipulate 80,000+ words in the novel. I prepared for this new career by taking several years of craft classes. Your readers may find that they need to re-train to follow their dream — especially in this rapidly changing world of technology.

2. Would a book on careers have possibly helped to change your life?

In the 1980s, during a recession, I was out of work for some time. I did turn to a popular book at that time for guidance: What Color is your Parachute?

At the same time, I joined an Employment Development Department self-help group. By following the suggestions in the book, we were able to analyze each other’s work skills. I valued that experience. Fortunately, I spent the last 20 years of my corporate work experience at the law firm and did not need to search for a job.

Working with lawyers was a good choice. In law, the precise word is needed to convey the thought. That work helped mold my discipline as a writer. I hope by sharing these experiences that I’ve helped you and your readers understand the importance of analyzing skills and weaknesses and staying focused on your goal. By adding knowledge to personal passion, you can create the career of your dreams. I did. I love writing novels.

I invite you to visit my website (http://www.JoAnnSmithAinsworth.com). Join me on Facebook and follow me on Twitter.

My very best for success to you all.

JoAnn

Leave a Reply

